Four Official Languages

In Switzerland there are four national languages: German and Swiss German, resp., French (in Western Switzerland), Italian (in the canton of Ticino) and Rhaeto-Romanic (in the canton of Grisons).

Swiss German comes in the forms of written German (Swiss High German) and a great number of local dialects. In Gstaad, for example, the locals speak „Berndütsch“, as is common in the Bernese Oberland. When speaking with foreigners many Swiss automatically switch to Swiss High German, so that they are not at all hard to understand.

In order to be able to live in Gstaad and communicate with locals and guests alike you should have a good command of German. In addition you should also speak English and French.

Would your ears like a sample of what we are talking about? At this link you will find audio samples of all Swiss dialects.

Back to the overview